Current Obsessions and Shopping Trader Joe’s Style!

Like all little kids, I used to go through phases where I would be obsessed with something for a month or so before I moved on to the next thing. One month, it might have been Ovaltine, the next it was model horses, and then it was spoonfuls of Nutella. Nowadays, my phases are a little healthier and  a little longer (I don’t think I could ever get tired of hummus!). Here’s what I’ve been loving lately:)

1.) Beets, like in this butternut beet salad. Yum!

24beets

Having fun with my photography…

24beets2

2.) My Avocado Dressing! I made it with lemon instead of lime last night, and it was just as good. Zazu is such a bad table surfer! You would think he was starved haha

24salad2

3.) Cashew Butter– I made this the other day and it turned out great, even if my food processor overheated and shut off! I’ve been putting it on everything from oatmeal to sweet potatoes.

24cashewbutter

4.) And last but not least, Hummus/Chicken/Veggie Sandwiches! Tired of them yet? Good, because either am I:)

24sandwich

To fuel all this, we went for a quick shopping at TJ’s this weekend. Here’s some of the loot we picked up:)

Spinach, oranges, apples, avocados, carrots, lemons

24produce

PB, almond butter, cashews for nut butter, sprouted bread

24nutbutter

Quinoa and Chicken Breasts

24quinoa and chicken

Instant oatmeal for an upcoming trip and eggs

24eggs

Flaxseed meal, brushetta, and tapenade. Sorry for the random grouping! I feel like we are playing “Which one doesn’t belong?” Haha

24flaxseed

And if you haven’t entered the gigantic and super generous giveaway from Way Better Snacks  from yesterday, make sure you stop by- It’s easy to enter- all you have to do is comment on that post!

Off to school:)

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 44 Comments

Post navigation

44 thoughts on “Current Obsessions and Shopping Trader Joe’s Style!

  1. Isn’t Trader Joe’s just the best? I swear, I feel like a kid in a candy store every time I shop there.

  2. Oh I have never seen those oats or quinoa in TJ’s! I am going to have to search!

  3. I LOVE cashew butter! It’s probably my favorite of all the nut butters 🙂 I really miss TJ’s…hopefully they build one in Denver soon!

  4. That cashew butter looks like cookie dough! I’m long overdue for my TJ’s run 😦 Haven’t been in months! I love their raw unsalted almond butter…I think its actually cheaper to buy it than make it at home!

  5. i used to eat beets daily because they always had them at school but i have never cooked them myself. those look amazing

  6. I love beets, they taste so good and look so pretty in pictures! Kind of messy to prepare though – I always look like I’ve stabbed someone!

  7. I am thoroughly obsessed with beets too (part of that might be the fact that they turn everything pink haha)! TJs is the best!! Sorry about your processor overheating, I practically broke my vitamix the first time I made almond butter haha! I bet you could stick it back in the processor and make it even more drippy now that the processor is cooled off though! 🙂

  8. Love all of your food pictures. I’m in love with beets. I thought I was the only one but they are so good on salads. Yum!

  9. I adore beets! Yum, yum, yum! I have yet to make any nut butter myself & would love to try soon! Good lookin’ eats 🙂

  10. Amanda

    I love Trader Joe’s! We just got our first one in the Rochester area a few months ago. I love their cookie butter. I could eat that forever.

  11. I wish there was a Trader Joe’s in Canada!

  12. I love Trader Joes! I went to on when I was in Newyork and their amazing! I wish we had one in Canada!!

  13. Runner Girl Eats

    I can’t wait until our TJ opens! I don’t think I could ever get enough avocado. It just goes with everything!

  14. ooo beets.. I love them, but haven’t had them in so long lol I need to get down to Trade Joe’s 🙂

  15. I’ve been seriously loving beets lately, too. That salad sounds amazing! Today is going to be TJ’s shopping day for me. It’s so hard not to buy everything. I love that bruschetta!

  16. Hey Sunnie! I cant remember if Ive already asked you but what camera do you use and what program do you use for watermarking your pics?

    • No worries! I use a Canaon EOS Rebel, which I love! I found PicMonkey throut Peanut Butter Fingers. It’s really easy, I just upload my photo, add text, and save.

  17. I have never cooked with beats. In fact, I am not sure if I have ever even eaten one. They have me really intrigued, though. I think I need to take the plunge and give them a try! They certainly look good in that salad. Will you be sharing the recipe?

    Your avocado dressing sounds amazing. I love that picture since your puppy dog snuck into it! 😉

  18. Yummayyy! I totally went through the cheddar cheese snack mix phase. Haha my friends still tease me about all my “food phases” Honey bunches of oats, peanut butter, bananas and whipped cream… Ahh what a list. Can’t believe I missed your giveaway! I’ll go check it out now! Have a good day, girlie 🙂

  19. You take the most beautiful pictures of food! Reading your blog always makes me hungry 🙂

  20. Wow that beet & butternut salad looks awesome. I love beets (especially roasted) =)
    Looks like some good shopping!
    That cashew butter looks insanely delicious!

  21. You’ve got lots of yummy looking foods here. I love beets…roasted beets are my favorite.

  22. Amanda

    Sunnie if you just cook your cashews on an baking sheet for about 10 minutes & put them right into the food processor after they will already be partially soft & it will be much easier on your food processor. You don’t have to spray the pan or anything, and I just do it at 350 degrees.

    • Thank you so much for the tip! I will definitely be trying this.The soaking method is supposed to work as well- I just need to work on my patience;) Have a great night!

  23. I tend to have a pretty obsessive personality when it comes to food as well. I enjoy trying new things well enough, but I definitely have my tried and true favorites that I don’t really like to gravitate away from. Current obsessions? Greek yogurt, frozen blueberries, cereal, cocoa powder, grilled chicken salads, and chocolate chip oatmeal cookies 😀

  24. Mmm I LOVE cashew butter!

  25. Love that almond butter!

  26. Nowadays, my phases are a little healthier and a little longer too. For example, It’s hard for me to not practice a little bit of yoga each day. I would never have thought that 3 years ago. I can totally understand why Zazu is table surfing! Your food is always so good looking and good for you!

  27. oh yummmmmmmmm cashew butter is the best! ever since my foods got healthier all my phases aren’t really phases and become permanent..i can never get sick of hummus or PB!

  28. Oh my goodness, your puppy (I call all aged dogs puppies) is sooo cute! Your cashew butter looks so good!

  29. Your blog is awesome! How do you make the almond butter? I really want to try making my own nut butters

    • Thank you! For the almond butter, I pour about 3 cups of soaked (for at least an hour) into my food processor, add salt and a touch of honey, and preocess until smooth. It takes a while but is so worth it!

  30. thanks for stopping by my blog the other day! I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to eat with you! that looks scrumptious!

  31. I used to love beets so much! Then I had them too much. That cashew butter looks amaaazing! Actually, all of your food does. PS, I rode yesterday and it was great!

  32. gosh I wish I had your photography skills!! & seriously, that sandwich looks freaking amazing.

  33. Thank you for the bday wishes!!

    you know something..I don’t think I have EVER eaten beets before..I genuinely don’t know anything about them!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

