Healthy Lunch Ideas and a Canyon Bakehouse Review

As much as I love my oatmeal concoctions and smoothies at breakfast, lunch has always been my favorite. Through the years I’ve gone from Nutella on rice cakes with candy, to spinach with plain vinegar, and am now finally am learning what a healthy balanced lunch looks like.  I’ve learned that a healthy lunch doesn’t have to be tiny:

lean cuisine

or expensive:

work-lunch-coworkers-money-workplace-ecards-someecards

My favorite combinations nowadays?

1.) Veggie Burgers.

27burger2

2.) Salads (the ones I take to school are never as pretty, though!)

jan8salad

3.) Random yogurt messes when I’m home

25breakfast

4.) Wraps. Love the portability!

dec11wrap

and last but definitely not least…

5.) Sandwiches! Particularly with this new Canyon Bakehouse Gluten Free bread I’ve been obsessing over

24sandwich

I was excited (as always!) when Canyon Bakehouse sent over their popular 7 Grain Bread. Although I’m not gluten intolerant and can eat regular bread with the best of them, I definitely appreciate gluten-free companies for those people who can’t! So occasionally, I’ll pick up a GF bread instead of our regular wheat loaf. While I love how dense these breads are, I have never liked the crumbly, ricey texture of most brands.

But Canyon Bakehouse Bread? This loaf is soft, fluffy, and ridiculously good.

canyonbakehouse

At first, I thought it was a little grainy, but the more I used it the more I loved it.

All week I have been making sandwiches ranging from Curry Chicken Salad…

canyonbakehousechicken

…to hummus chicken veggie…

Before:

canyonbakhouse hummusbefore

After:

25lunch

…to hummus avocado!

canyonbakehousehummus

The taste of this bread is very mild and goes well with pretty much everything. I also enjoyed using it for egg toast! With a green smoothie on the side:)

canyontoast

And the nutrition is great as well! It’s not for vegans, but I love all the whole grains they use.  The 2 grams of fiber and protein are an extra bonus as well!

INGREDIENTS: Water, Brown Rice Flour, Tapioca Flour, Whole Grain Sorghum Flour,  Eggs, Organic Agave Syrup, Whole Grain Teff, Whole Grain Millet, Xanthan Gum, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Sugarcane Molasses, Whole Grain Quinoa, Whole Grain Amaranth, Whole Buckwheat Flour, Yeast, Cultured Brown Rice Flour, Sea Salt, Natural Enzymes

label-7-layer

If you’re diet is gluten-free, I definitely recommend giving this bread a try. I loved reviewing it!

zazu1

Haha. Have a great day!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 43 Comments

Post navigation

43 thoughts on “Healthy Lunch Ideas and a Canyon Bakehouse Review

  1. Mmm all your sandwiches look so good, especially the curry chicken one! I always think sandwiches wont fill me up so avoid them but I really should get back into them as this has got me craving them big time :))

  2. i love veggie burgers. I haven’t really found a gluten free bread that I can eat regularly they are just so darn expensive!

  3. mmmmm lovin the chicken hummus sammies! I’ll have to try the chicken avo ones

  4. WRAPS!!!! Haha love the idea of a yogurt mess for a lunch, too. These are great ideas! Thanks, girl 🙂

  5. My salads never turn out very pretty either. The chicken salad sandwich looks so good!

  6. Love the idea of the curry chicken salad! I have been on a curry kick lately. I love wraps, but normally only have them when I go out to eat.

  7. Every time you mention curry chicken salad I try to make a mental note to make it but still haven’t, it sounds so good! The bread looks good too!

  8. I love veggie burgers,too. And hummus and avocado is always a winning combination. All your pictures are so pretty 🙂

  9. Runner Girl Eats

    Yum this post has me drooling even while I eat my lunch!

  10. Your lunches look soooo good! Those e cards are great hahah!

  11. Prayers and Apples

    I’ve been stuck on chicken salad sandwiches (made with greek yogurt!) lately – yours look delicious too! 🙂

  12. i aCTually really like gluten free breads! Whenever they are on sale I tend to get them something about the taste I really enjoy. This one is next on my list! I love veggie burgers! Though I usually make a big batch and freeze them, costco has a really good kind in a huge box which is great for quick lunch/dinners

    • I will definitely be checking those out! Costco is great for bulk things. We went there a few months ago and came home with a box of granola bars that are STILL not finished haha!

  13. That bread looks pretty good! So far the only GF bread I’ve found that I like is Udi’s, so maybe I’ll have to give that a try

  14. Your postings always make me hungry. Lol

  15. mmmm those are some nice looking sammichs!

    Love the ecard about Lean Cuisine…so true!

  16. I love the Lean Cuisine card 🙂 Ha-ha. That is SO true.

    For my lunch – I eat a giant (I mean GIANT) veggie salad every day and usually a sweet potato or small acorn squash. I’m definitely a creature of habit. My biggest problem is that I don’t eat enough protein (if at all) at lunch. I need to switch it up, maybe get rid of the potato or squash and add some protein to my salad or make a side of protein to go with my salad. Again, I never end up wanting to because I’m so used to my normal lunch. It feels weird to stray… 🙂

    • That sounds like such a great lunch! I love veggie salads almost as much as I love sweet potatoes:) When I feel like a salad, I usually try to add a little protein with chicken, tempeh, nuts, quinoa, avocado, etc. Then again, don’t I add avocado to everything haha?;) Hope you are doing well Di!

  17. I want to try that curry chicken salad! Looks amazing!

  18. That Lean Cuisine e-card is absolutely hilarious!! I literally almost laughed out loud but had to contain myself since I am at work. All of those lunches look and sound so good, especially the veggie burger. I cannot seem to get enough of them :).

    • Me either! I love that they are so easy and economical to make at home too. I used to eat Lean Cuisines all the time and would be famished an hour later haha!

  19. Your sandwich looks amazing! My sister is gluten-intolerant and totally love to try her GF bread sometimes so I will have to remember to recommend this one to her!

  20. Ah that lean cuisine eCard always makes me laugh! I am so a sandwich or wrap girl for lunch. In fact that veggie loaded wrap is really making me crave another one haha. Although right now I am adoring more of a snack plate kind of lunch.

  21. I went through similar phases of unbalanced unhealthy lunches. It’s funny how skewed views on food/meals can become. Definitely looks like you got it figured out- You are so great at putting together such beautiful balanced lunches! What great variety!

    • Thank you for the sweet comment Lilia! I always appreciate having a good lunch packed when lunch comes around at school, even if they can be a pain to pack at 6 in the morning;)

  22. Great lunch ideas! That is always so hard for me to stay creative with easy to pack foods!

  23. Girl, please tell me what you put in that veggie wrap? It looks amazing!

  24. I just had to laugh when I read your e-cards!

    My gluten-free friends are going to be thrilled when I tell them about this bread! Now when they come over, I’ll know which brand to buy. The last time they were over and we had sandwiches, the brand I bought was a definite no go!

  25. My friend is gluten free, I’ll have to pass this bread along to her 🙂 I know the kind she gets is really small and this actually looks like a good size sandwich lol I looove veggie burgers, but don’t really get to have them too often because I’m just too lazy to get to the store LOL!

  26. Yumm, I love sandwiches! I actually haven’t had one in forever… what is wrong with me?! Your eats always look sooo good.

  27. OMG you always have the healthiest meals! Love it.

  28. Mmmm veggie burgers =)

  29. Love the look of that fully loaded veggie wrap!

  30. All these lunches look delicious especially your salad and sandwiches. You’re right. Small portions doesn’t mean good and usually leaves me hungry and snacking on worse things later.

  31. Pingback: Savor the Flavor Sunday | Jessie Bear, What Will You Wear?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

