Makin’ Banana Pancakes

Happy Valentine’s Day!!

“Makin’ banana pancakes, pretend like it’s the weekend, yeah”.  Who else loves Jack Johnson?:)

My Valentine’s Day started with that song and of course a big batch of banana pancakes…

proteinpancakes

As I proclaimed in my WIAW post yesterday, I am finally on the protein pancake bandwagon! I love how simple and healthy these are, plus the fact that they take about 5 minutes to make. And with about 15 grams of protein, they easily hold me over until lunch.

Oh, and did I mention they taste like cake?? Sign me up:)

Here’s how to achieve this goodness:

1.) Start with the base.

pancakeingredients

In a bowl, mash 1 ripe banana with 2 T. protein powder (1 T. cocoa powder works as well), 1/2 tsp. baking powder, 1 egg, and 1/3 cup oat flour.  Heat a pan over medium high heat with a light coating of oil. Stir until smooth, then pour into pan.

proteinpancakeinpan

Let the pancakes cook for about 90 seconds on each side, allowing more time if necessary.

Now for the fun part…top your pancakes with any toppings you desire:)

Greek yogurt, agave nectar, and crushed walnuts? Yum!

pancakefork2

Or how about blueberry Greek yogurt and cashew butter?

pancakeblueberry3

pancakesblueberry

This was my first attempt- they tasted great but I’ve definitely improved my flipping skills since:)

proteinpancakes1

And because these are quite addicting…

1333935331852_209421

(source)

So true.

Last but definitely not least: who’s my Valentine this year??

IMG_8120

Yep, you guessed it:)

If you’re looking for some love themed treats, make sure to Check out these awesome Valentine’s Day desserts from The Little Spork. Yum!

Have a LOVEly day:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 47 Comments

Post navigation

47 thoughts on “Makin’ Banana Pancakes

  1. I wish I could celebrate with my dog today, i am all about finding that single lady love! Have a great day.

  2. My sister and I have been wanting to make pancakes for awhile (I cannot remember the last time I had pancakes…it’s a tragedy, I know!). I definitely want to try making these! And Zazu is the perfect Valentine…he’s so handsome! Happy Valentine’s Day 🙂

  3. Now I have Jack Johnson stuck in my head! I’m not complaining though. Pancakes look great! Happy Valentine’s day!

  4. Haha, jack johnson! He was my first love 😉 This look fantastic! Love the greek yogurt on top!

  5. I need to try adding baking powder to my cakes too. Also, love Jack Johnson 🙂

  6. Great pancake recipe!

  7. lifeandfitnessbyashley

    Def. trying these this weekend! Happy Valentine’s Day!!

  8. Happy Valentines Day! Love pancakes and these look great!

  9. AmyS

    Pancakes and a cute dog for Valentines day- sounds great! 🙂

  10. Have a great day! Zazu is the perfect gentleman for Valentine’s Day!

  11. YUM. I need to make these pancakes, but first I need to buy some protein powder. Happy Valentines Day!

  12. Yum! These look awesome. Pancakes are definitely happening tomorrow! Oh Sunnie, always making me crave food. Your blog dictates half of my food choices, I swear. Haha have a great day! Your valentine is adorable. 😉

  13. Happy Valentine’s Day, Sunnie! Hope you’re having a great one, although I can’t imagine it being anything less than wonderful when it begins with a delicious breakfast like that 🙂

  14. Yay cant wait to try this recipe this weekend.. pancake recipes def take a few tries sometimes doughy in the middle sometimes to cooked! these look great, hope you have a good day !

  15. mmmm banana pancakes sound so good- especially with cashew butter!

  16. If I had a dollar for every pancake I’d be wealthier too!

  17. Thanx for the recipe 🙂 Enjoy your Valentine’s day ❤

  18. 1) I love banana pancakes. I need to try your recipe. 2) I LOVE THAT SONG. My bf actually learned how to play that on guitar like a year ago, JUST to impress me and I didn’t find out until like a month ago hahaha. We didn’t even start dating until wayyy later haha.

  19. Yum Yum Yum (as always) 😉

  20. These looks great! I wish I had read this before breakfast! Oh well, I know what I’m having tomorrow (;

  21. I love Jack Johnson! And those pancakes sounds amazing!

  22. aww thanks for the shoutout! happy valentine’s to you, my beautiful friend 🙂 your pancakes are really making me want to go out and buy some protein powder just so I can try these out!!

  23. P

    Oooh I want pancakes that taste like cake!! Haha, these look GOOD.

  24. I’ll be having pancakes in 24 days!

  25. I love Jack Johnson 🙂 Better Together was our first dance song at our wedding!

  26. realfoodkatiesway

    LOVE Jack Johnson!!!! And pancakes 🙂

    A girl after my own heart 🙂

  27. I think I need to try making some banana pancakes!

  28. Great healthy pancakes! Banana gives them such good flavour.

  29. My pancake flipping skills are seriously lacking…I guess I need to make them more so that I can practice! 😉

  30. YUMM!! Gotta try these especially on my picky kiddos – love love love Jack Johnson btw 😉 http://www.colorushealthy.com

  31. Yummy! I need to go pick up bananas at Costco this weekend!

  32. Ooh these look great! I’ve never tried protein pancakes, but I’ve always wanted to because I see them everywhere on blogs. This recipe looks good, I might just have to finally try some 🙂

  33. Everybody seems to be loving on these pancakes; they must be phenomenal. Question: do you use oat flour the same way you would whole wheat flour?

    • Hi Meghan! I’m really new to oat flour (this was this first recipe I had tried with it), but I’m assuming you do. I think you use a tiny bit more since the serving size is slightly larger. I love it so far!!:)

  34. ElissaM

    I SO love banana and have been craving pancakes! Hopefully will get to make these this weekend 🙂

  35. Pingback: MGN’s Go-To Breakfast Ideas | moderngirlnutrition

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

