Curried Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash!

The best dinner this week? Acorn squashes filled with a curried quinoa stuffing and topped off with raisins and salty pistachios. Fancy schmancy, right?

acornsquashquinoa

It’s no secret that I’m an acorn squash fanatic. I like it in pastas, love it in soups, and for goodness sake, I even used it as a granola bowl once!

acorn squash

But this recipe has to be my new favorite. The curry flavors go so well with the sweet squash, and the avocado makes it have a great texture. (I’ve decided that avocado is my best friend for cooking!) Here’s what to do:)

Ingredients:

2-3 acorn squash

1 cup dry quinoa

1 sweet onion

2 cloves garlic

1/3 cup raisins

1/4 cup pistachios, salted

1/2 avocado

1 T. curry spice

Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400. Start with 2 or 3 acorn squash and cut each one in half, then clean out the seeds. Sprinkle a bit of salt over each one.

acornsquashhalf

Lay them in a baking dish that has just about a half-inch of water to keep them moist while in the oven. Bake them until soft for about an hour to an hour and 20 minutes.

acornsquashprebake

Then, make your filling! Cook quinoa according to package. While quinoa is simmering, heat a tablespoon of healthy oil in a pan over medium high heat. Dice your onion and garlic and add it to the pan, the saute until onion turns into a carmelized color (about 10 minutes). Add in your curry spice, a pinch of salt, and whatever random veggies you want. I threw in peas because I add peas to literally everything:)

acornsquashonions

Mix half of the raisins and pistachios into the mix, and set the rest aside for topping. Pistachios are my new favorite nut, although I think I say that for every kind!

acornsquashraisinandnuts

Then,  mash in the half avocado. Remove your squash from the oven once they are done, and add in your filling, and return them to the oven for another 10 minutes.

And that’s it! It’s not easy like mac n’ cheese, but it’s definitely not too hard:) If you want a little extra protein, feel free to add some chicken sausage. I used Chicken Apple for the family, and they all loved it!

acornsquashwithchicken

When I get my southern, mashed-potato-and-steak-loving uncle to eat 2 portions, I know it’s a success:)

Here’s to the weekend!

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 38 Comments

Post navigation

38 thoughts on “Curried Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash!

  1. Lovely recipe 🙂 Never knew you were supposed to half half an inch of water in the pan while baking the acorn squashes. Thanx for the tip 😉

  2. I always cook squash with the intention of stuffing it like this and then somehow end up eating it all plain before I have a chance… hahahaha

  3. deniliese

    i definitely want to try this & more recipes with curry!

  4. I’ve always tried acorn squash but scared I won’t like it and don’t want to waste it. :/ what does it taste like? is there even a description? haha I might try it after seeing this though!

  5. Ooh, this looks fabulous! I’m a big lover of acorn squash, and quinoa too!

  6. Mmmmmm… I still need to make spaghetti squash! You should make a how-to post regarding spaghetti squash, that’ll make me do it haha. Hope you’re having a good weekend!

  7. Looks so good, thanks for sharing the recipe!

  8. This looks delicious!

  9. These look amazing! I’ve never cooked with acorn squash, but I love butternut & spaghetti squash so I imagine I will like acorn squash as well. Will have to add this to my growing list of things to try 🙂

  10. This looks delcious! I’ll definitely be trying this soon! thanks for posting!

  11. Delicious looking stuffing!

  12. thanks for sharing this recipe! I’ve always been intimated to try out stuffed squash although I’m not sure why, I think they just look so complicated and fancy! yours looks so healthy and filling though, yum!

  13. Curry, quinoa, AND squash? Sounds like a winning combination to me! 🙂

  14. i still havent tried making my own curry dish, this looks too good to pass up tho!

  15. I’ve been looking for things to do with quinoa and currying it sounds like a very cool idea. I love curry anyway, but wouldn’t have thought of quinoa curry.

  16. Amanda

    This looks amazing! I love acorn squash and quinoa. Together is a win!

  17. Wow that looks and sounds so super tasty!!! Can’t go wrong with squash… or curry and the combination is awesome =)

  18. I love acorn squash. It has such a lovely flavour when roasted. So healthy when stuffed with quinoa 🙂

  19. There’s nothing quite like a stuffed squash. Looks beautiful and sounds so tasty.

  20. I love stuffed squash! What a great idea to use quinoa for some added protein and I bet the curry flavor is great. thanks for always having such fun recipes!

  21. This sounds like something I need in my life– I love pretty much everything going on here, especially the curry. Obsessed lately!

  22. Ummmm this is perfect! I’ve stuffed acorn squash with a lot of food varieties before, but never curried quinoa! Love it!

  23. Yum, That looks AWESOME! I’m all about stuffing quinoa wherever I can 😉 http://www.colorushealthy.com

  24. AmyS

    This looks great- pinning for later use! 🙂

  25. I love this! I know what I’m doing with the next few acorn squash I buy at the store. 🙂

  26. I had never put water in while baking before – I’ll have to try this next time!

  27. This looks great Sunnie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

