Savory Breakfast

Hi there!

Today is a very special day. You all know my love for Fridays!

Yesterday started out with one really good breakfast. I saw this savory breakfast over at Kaity’s Cooking, and knew I had to try this combo. 1 egg over easy, sweet potato, kale sautéed in olive oil and Bragg’s, and half a whole wheat English muffin. Promptly covered in hummus.

221brakfast

I started getting hungry right before lunch, so I snacked on this NOW Bar that I won in Danica’s Giveaway a while back. Has anyone heard of these? They taste exactly like Fig Newtons. By the way, I’m starting to think Zazu’s color makes for a great background 😉

221nowbar

Lunch of the usual- I don’t even know why I need a picture anymore! Brown Rice Tortilla filled with chicken, hummus, avocado, and plenty of vegetables. Yep, with a bite out of it haha.

221wrap1

When I stopped at home I had a quick bowl of yogurt, which I put in the freezer for about a half hour- love froyo! Sorry for the repeat picture, but I promise it looked exactly like this:

pumpkin yogurt

I kept it simple with a dinner of baked chicken, sweet potatoes sprinkled with as much homemade cashew butter as I could manage to get out of the very bottom of the jar (need to make more!), broccoli sautéed in olive oil, and hummus. Easy and delicious.

221dinner

And a homemade mini muffin with blackberries happened while watching American Idol. Yum!

221muffin

Here’s to an awesome weekend:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 49 Comments

Post navigation

49 thoughts on “Savory Breakfast

  1. I need to start eating more kale. Marty is obsessed with it right now so I need to jump on the bandwagon 🙂

  2. I’m more of a sweet breakfast kinda gal, but that savory breakfast combo looks delicious! Happy Friday!!!

  3. That breakfast looks amazing. I am a huge fan of savory breakfasts. I would probably add some jam or jelly into the mix and maybe some almond butter in order to make it more of a “sweet and savory” breakfast. Those are my fav!

  4. all looks so good:) thanks for sharing Sunnie!

  5. you always have the coolest bar choices, never heard of that one

  6. UGGGHHH I can’t get over how much I love your blog! Love it!!!

  7. That muffin looks so cute! What a fun day of eats. mmmm sweet potato… I think I’ll have to make something with that tonight =) Happy Friday Sunnie!

  8. interesting choice for breakfast ; i had tuna today on rye bread and with some light mayo and red onions. i usually boil 2 eggs and eat them wt some salad (cabbage and carrot)

  9. I love your wraps! I always underestimate the deliciousness of wraps, but when you fill them with loads of veggies (like you do!) I think they give sandwiches a good run for their money. Have a great weekend Sunnie!

  10. Sometimes savory breakfasts are the best! I used to be a sweets kind of person, but now I’m more of a savory breakfast eater 🙂

  11. Mmm that wrap sounds delish.. you may have rekindled my craving for them! I havent had a wrap for lunch in forever!

  12. mmmmm- blackberries…those sound soooo good! have a great weekend!

  13. Your breakfast sounds great! Love the kale with braggs, and sweet potato is always a welcome addition to a meal (if it’s not already the main course!)

  14. I love all the simple, fresh foods. What kind of muffin? I definitely want one now! Have a good weekend!

  15. Your breakfast look super tasty. I love potatoes with my breakfast 🙂

  16. Sweet potato and cashew butter sounds delish! Have a great weekend!

  17. that bar sounds so yummmmy! def a fav breakfast of mine, so filling! yumm but never tried sweet potatoes with cashew butter! my fam always knows who finished the last of the pb bc if its me its as clean as it possible could be haha

  18. yum! I love the looks of that wrap (of course 😉 ) you should post that muffin recipe, too!

  19. Delicious looking meals! I think I’ll have a baked sweet potato tonight 🙂

  20. Wow I’m having a drool fest right now looking at all your yummy eats! I ADORE baked sweet potatoes, they’re like crack. But better. Not that I would know but I’m willing to bet my expensive kale chips they are!

  21. Whenever I am unsure what to have for a meal, I have a sweet potato and load it up with goodies! I love that you had a sweet potato for both breakfast and lunch! I never thought of incorporating a sweet potato into my breakfast before, but I think it is a great idea, and will have to try it out! I’m going to look more into those bars too, I see they have chia seeds! Everything you ate looks awesome!!

  22. *breakfast and dinner

  23. That muffin looks to die for! You are such an amazing, cook, blogger, photographer!

  24. That muffins looks fantastic! Yum! We are snacking on blackberries this morning too!

  25. So many yummy and nutritious eats! Loving the savory breakfast and homemade muffin! The muffin looks like it could be straight from Sweet Tomatoes :)!

  26. mmm usually I stick with sweet breakfasts but that sounds so gooood

    • I always have some decadent breakfast that probably should really be called dessert haha, but lately I’ve been loving the savory! Hope you are having a great weekend!

  27. Happy Weekend! I have always wanted to have some veggies with breakfast but have never done it before, well unless its in a smoothie!

  28. your days always look so yummy 😛 also I thought you should know that I tried sweet potato in my lunch sandwich with hummus and avocado and it was soo good, thanks again for the brilliant idea!

  29. Oh yum, a bar that tastes like a fig newton. I haven’t had a fig newton in a long time and now i want one!

  30. Everything looks so good! Do you have a link with your recipe for homemade cashew butter? Would love to try some.

  31. LOL to the lunch picture! I do the same thing “yum, can’t wait to eat this – crap! I wanted to take a picture of it first…. oh well!” 😉

    • Yes I completely know what you mean! I’m posting my muffin recipe soon (finally). It’s only taken so long because I alway pick at them when they come out of the oven! 😉

  32. realfoodkatiesway

    haha I love how a mini muffin and blackberries “happened” 😉

  33. those chicken wraps looks so great :] love your blog pretty girl!

  34. I got the best hummus at the farmers market last week and have been on a hummus kick too! Food looks delicious! I need to start making my own nut butters I love homemade nut butters but always buy at the farmers market because I don’t have a food processor but maybe I should just cave in and buy it! Thanks for sharing Love + Shine Courtstar

  35. What a great day of eats. You always have the best meals Sunnie.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

