MGN’s Snack Obsession: Power Muffins

Finally, after many failed experiments including one almost-set-off smoke alarm and lots of hard-as-a-rock muffins, I finally mastered the healthy muffin.

No refined sugar. Gluten Free. Full of protein and fiber. And tastes like cake!

Really, these exceeded my expectations and turned out amazing!  I love packing them as snacks, and they are even better for dessert. That is, if they last the day-My family loves them, too! 😉

muffins2

The flour I used in these was Arrowhead Mills Oat Flour, which is actually pretty inexpensive. You can get certified gluten free oat flour, or just blend up rolled oats yourself and scoop out a cup of oat flour.

muffins oatflour

Ingredients: (makes 3 really big muffins)

Wet:

1.5 large extra ripe bananas

1 egg+1 egg white

1/4 cup almondmilk

Dry:

1 cup oat flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 sc. chocolate protein powder (optional)

Add-ins:

Raisins, chocolate chips, chia seeds, almonds, berries, etc.

Directions: Preheat oven to 375. In a bowl, mash banana with a fork and then add eggs and almondmilk. In another bowl, whisk dry ingredients. Slowly combine dry ingredients to wet ingredients, add a bit more almondmilk is necessary. Oil a pan lightly and fill each muffin space up about 3/4 the way. Bake for about 20 minutes, checking halfway through.

muffin batter1

I always throw in a few chocolate chips- yum!

muffins1

These are great with fresh fruit for breakfast…

221muffin

…or warm almondmilk with honey for dessert.

muffinswithmilk

They just like the giant muffins I used to have growing up, only a whole lot healthier:)

Speaking of muffins, my VitaTops Giveaway ends tonight!

Have a great day!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “MGN’s Snack Obsession: Power Muffins

  1. MMM!!! Question: What other recipes can Oat Flour be used in? These sound great, but if I were to buy the bag, I’d want to make sure it was versatile! Any ideas?

    • Oat flour is AMAZING! I’ve had luck subbing it into literally every baked good except ones with yeast and ones refrigerated before using (they somehow turn into a big wet mess). I have a super tasty donut recipe using it, if you’re too cautious to experiment on your own.

    • Definitely! I know Kelly already gave some great ideas, but I have to add that there’s some amazing looking oat flour pizza crust recipes out there, too:)

  2. Those do look great! Maybe I can paleo-ify them for the Whole Life Challenge I’m in right now??? 🙂

  3. oh man those look amazing! I have never tried oat flour before

  4. Bookmarking this page for SURE! Love the little almonds on top

  5. Sounds really healthy! I’ve not come across oat flour in the supermarkets here, lucky you to have found it!

  6. Awesome muffins! I like that they have a lot of protein in them, perfect!

  7. I have been looking for a protein muffin recipe! Thanks for sharing this!

  8. Yum! I have some TJ’s chocolate banana protein muffins in my freezer right now, and when they run out, I know what’s next! 🙂 Have a great Monday, girl!

    • Oh my goodness I must find those immediately 😉 My dad is hooked on TJ’s frozen products- waffles, pizzas, you name it, so I’m sure I will have to share this info with him haha. Thanks Abby you too!

  9. These look so good and the ingredients list is awesome! I am such a sucker for a recipe that makes not-so-healthy foods healthier. I would love to eat these for breakfast or as a snack :).

  10. kimthevegan www.rockmyvegansocks.vaskor.ca

    These muffins look absolutely divine Sunnie! I love the almonds on top – so pretty!

  11. These muffins look and sound absolutely fantastic! I’m trying to eat as little sugar as possible so these are perfect! Absolutely going to be making these 🙂

  12. These sound so good! Oat flour is definitely one of my favorite GF substitutes. So delicious. Can’t wait to try these. So glad I found your blog – I love finding other teen bloggers!

  13. haha totally no about setting the smoke alarm off, i do more often then not! these look great! perfect snack to pack and bring to school, thank you !

  14. Those look really good!!! I love when muffins are dense looking 🙂

  15. Wow Sunny these are a masterpiece! Once I restock my oat supply I will make them fo sho since my family is trying to get more oats into their diet. You honestly read my mind, a few days ago I was on google looking up “gluten-free oat muffins”; you are the answer to my prayers!

  16. Yum Yum Yum! I gave up sweets for Lent (including scones, muffins, donuts) but now that I see what is in these, I think they’d pass the test as an okay food to eat 🙂 Can’t wait to make them!

  17. delicious! I rarely eat muffins but these might make me want some since they’re a healthier alternative.

  18. Yummy!! I’m not sure I’d be able to control myself to just one at a time 🙂

  19. love this recipe! do you think i can grind oats to make the flour or I should buy proper oat flour?

  20. These look amazing! So much better then those store bought muffins that are filled with sugar and margarine. 😀

  21. Love this!! So making them. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  22. These look so delicious! Whenever I make oat flour, I always throw in an extra few cups to save for later.

  23. Pingback: WIAW- Short and Sweet | moderngirlnutrition

  24. I’m so glad you posted this! I have some ripe bananas waiting to be baked! Can’t wait to try this out tomorrow! 🙂

  25. this is such a great idea! I also love that you end up with 3 big muffins instead of a big batch that I wouldn’t be able to finish on my own 🙂

  26. Pingback: Sunday Night Prep | moderngirlnutrition

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

