WIAW- Buckwheat Banana Pancakes!

This WIAW is all about…

Buckwheat flour. Gluten-free, full of fiber and protein, bakes easily in everything. Where has this been all my life?!

It’s my new favorite food find, and I’ve been eating it in everything from decadent yet super easy pancakes…

buckwheatpancake22

…to chocolate muffins…

buckwheatmuffins

…to granola…

raw one yogurt

I was surprised at how inexpensive it is, too! You can pick it up at Whole Foods, or you can buy a good-sized bag online for $4.29 at Swanson Vitamins here. I always end up wanting to buy everything in Swanson, so I have to bring out my self-control whenever I go on that site! 😉

Back to the pancakes. These are just like my oat flour ones, but the buckwheat makes them more hearty and dense. I loved, loved, loved how much staying-power just one of these had!

buckwheatpancake

The recipe is really, really easy.

Ingredients:

Wet:

1 ripe banana

1 /4 cup almondmilk

1 egg+1 egg white

Dry:

1/2 c. buckwheat flour

1 T. or so of a good-tasting protein powder (optional)

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

Directions:

You take your dry ingredients and mix them in a bowl:

buckwheatdry

 Take your wet ingredients and mix them in a separate bowl:

buckwheatwet

Then gradually stir the dry into the wet, mixing until smooth. Heat a pan on medium high with a smidge of olive oil and pour the batter in!Simple as that. This recipe makes two small/medium pancakes, but I decided to just make one really big one 🙂

buckwheatpancake3

Topped with maple almond butter, cashew butter, banana, and Greek yogurt? Yep, I’m sold 🙂

Happy WIAW!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 38 Comments

Post navigation

38 thoughts on “WIAW- Buckwheat Banana Pancakes!

  1. I’m always trying to find a good pancake recipe! I need to head out and buy some buckwheat, for gosh sake! This looks too delicious not too!

  2. I’m a sucker for pancakes and this looks like a great pancake! I’ve never used buckwheat before, but I always like trying out new grains and flours (especially GF ones), so this is going on the list 🙂

  3. Angela @ Health's Angel

    I would do the same as you- just make one really big pancake! That’s the way to go, IMO. Also, I’m newly-obsessed with cashew butter. I’ve just been buying the little packets every so often but man is it good!

  4. Yum!! I’ve been looking for a good homemade gluten free pancake.. Love it!

  5. I need to make these soon! I have some buckwheat flour sitting around that I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with and I think pancakes would be perfect!

  6. These pancakes look like an amazing breakfast (or lunch, or dinner!) I love buckwheat but don’t use it nearly as often as I’d like. I always seem to forget about it! Maple almond butter is the best. Good choice!

  7. wow these looks great, i still havent tried buckwheat.. i gotta buy me some!

  8. I’ve never tried buckwheat but am very tempted to now!

  9. I looove a hearty pancake in the mornin’. I just need to try buckwheat now!

  10. OOoooo chocolate muffins! There is nothing quite like starting your day off right with some chocolate in the morning for breakfast! 😉

  11. oh yum those pancakes look delicious – i m definitely going to have to buy some buckwheat flour now!

  12. That looks so good and filing…what so special ab buckwheat why is it gluten free?

  13. Oh how I love pancakes!! And Swanson rocks – I buy kukicha tea from there!

  14. mmm- these pancakes look great! I have pancakes planned for dinner one night this week 🙂

  15. Yum! I go the easy route and buy the buckwheat pancake mix! It’s locally made and delicious! Props, Sunnie, props! 🙂

  16. Yum!!! I bought some buckwheat but haven’t tried it yet. Pancakes sound very good right now…

  17. I’ve never tried making anything with buckwheat before but those look amazing!

  18. Mmmmm looks good! I should get some buckwheat and try these.

  19. haha for you its Swanson for me its iherb! God that site is going to be the demise of my bank account I tell you.

  20. These look delicious! I love buckwheat.

  21. Those are some tasty and healthy pancakes! I need to make them ASAP for a nice change at breakfast.

  22. I have never made anything with buckwheat flour, but I am more than intrigued!! These pancakes look yumoo!

  23. Those pancakes are TEASING ME!!! Naughty naught! LOL! 😉

  24. Those pancakes are making me so hungry! Delicious 🙂

  25. Ive just started using buckwheat flower as well, I like it. ive really only used it for muffins so far but ill have to try these they look great!

  26. I tried Buckwheat Noodles the other night and I really loved them 🙂 I’d love to try these Buckwheat Banana Pancakes too! Yum yum! I will have to pick some buckwheat up tomorrow after work!

  27. These look so good! Thank you for sharing this recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

